The National Youth Choir of Australia

National Youth Choir of Australia in Concert*


Time: July 10, 2019 7:30pm
Location: St Mary's Cathedral, Sydney
Event Type: Concert
Director: Dr David Hill
buy tickets

More Information

The Royal School of Church Music is excited to present Sydney InSpires resident ensemble, the National Youth Choir of Australia, in concert under the direction of Patron Dr David Hill MBE.

The programme will include:

Te Deum – Collegium Regale Herbert Howells (1892-1983)

Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis Michael Tippett (1905-98)

Mass for Seven Voices William Yaxley (b. 1994)

Trinity College motets Charles Villiers Stanford (1852-1924)

  •      Beati quorum
  •      Justorum animae
  •      Coelos ascendit

Festival Te Deum and Jubilate Deo Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)

Tallis Canon Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)/arr. Robert Chilcott (b.1955)


About the National Youth Choir of Australia

The National Youth Choir of Australia (NYCA) brings together Australia’s most outstanding young adult singers from around the country.

The first season of the National Youth Choir of Australia was held in 1995. The choir has met once every year since and has included seasons in Melbourne, Sydney, Hobart and Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin as well as tours in urban and regional Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, the Northern Territory, Western Australia and New Zealand.

NYCA has performed under some of Australia’s finest choral conductors, as well as visiting conductors such as Anton Armstrong & Weston Noble (USA), Tony Funk (Canada) and NYCA Artistic Director Noel Ancell OAM.

For over two decades, NYCA has operated as a nationally auditioned SATB chamber choir for singers aged 18-26. It has drawn its membership from all states and territories, bringing together many of Australia’s best young choral singers to meet annually for an intensive workshop culminating in a series of public concerts. It has focused on presenting a broad repertoire with a strong commitment to Australian choral music.

*Free for conference registrants